This is the "Home" page of the "Domestic Violence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Domestic Violence  

Useful Resources for the study of Domestic Violence
Last Updated: Nov 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/domesticviolence Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Domestic Violence Bibliographies

 Domestic violence: Multicultural Perspectives on Domestic Violence in the U.S.
This Bibliography focuses primarily on battered women of color in the home within the United States. (March 2005)

 Domestic violence: Police Response to Spouse Abuse
This guide provides lengthy annotations to materials concerning this controversial issue. Most of the bibliography is arranged by recommendations on arrest as an intervention. In addition, library locations and formats are provided. (October 1997)

 

Domestic violence web resources

Fact sheet for students at John Jay College about intimate partner violence and stalking, with links to community aid organizations, prepared by the Women's Center

American Bar Association Commission on Domestic Violence

This page includes information for lawyers about domestic violence as well as legal services for victims. In the Statistics section are dozens of facts supported by references.

 

Catholic Bishops Reports on Child Sex Abuse

In late February, 2004, the United States Conference of Bishops released two reports on the sexual abuse of minors by Catholic priests and deacons. This site contains links to both reports as well as press releases and videos of the press conference. A Report on the Crisis in the Catholic Church in the United States was prepared by the National Review Board for the Protection of Children and Young People. The Nature and Scope of the Problem of Sexual Abuse of Minors by Catholic Priests and Deacons in the United States is a research study conducted by John Jay College, which also hosts the study report.

 

Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence

Provides informed assistance to groups committed to understanding and preventing violence, particularly adolescent violence; the site includes a database focusing on the collection and evaluation of research and information concerning youth violence.

 

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse, Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. It maintains an excellent web site with statistics, fact sheets, information about its specialized services, and free, online searching of its Library and its own collection of Publications. The Gateway is a service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

 

CYFERnet

CYFERnet (Children, Youth, and Families Education and Resource Network)has a searchable database of publications and research on selected topics related to family violence.

 

Gay and Lesbian Anti-Violence Project (AVP)

Contains full-texts of the annual National Domestic Violence Report and New York City Domestic Violence Report (pdf files), concerning domestic violence in the lesbian and gay community.

 

Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community

Interdisciplinary organization seeking to prevent and reduce family violence in the African American community. Website includes extensive bibliographies and pages of links.

 

Minnesota Center Against Violence and Abuse

Searchable site includes articles, education and training resources, course syllabi and bibliographies from various disciplines. Includes the Link Research Project and Violence Against Women Online Resources.

 

National Center for Injury Prevention and Control

Includes facts and statistics (with references) on Child Maltreatment, Intimate Partner Violence, Sexual Violence and Youth Violence.

 

National Center on Elder Abuse

The National Center on Elder Abuse (NCEA) is a national resource for elder rights, law enforcement and legal professionals, public policy leaders, researchers, and the public.

 

NOW and Violence Against Women

Choose links to issue papers and actions being taken by NOW--The National Organization of Women-- with respect to wife abuse.

 

Office on Violence Against Women

An office of the U.S Department of Justice, the website provides links to laws and regulations, statistical publications, and other online resources. Also includes a summary of the criminal provisions of the Violence Against Women Act of 1994.

 

Recovered Memories of Sexual Abuse: Scientific Research & Scholarly Resources

An excellent, heavily annotated bibliography of papers published by scholars, selected by Jim Hopper, a therapist with a specialty in recovered memory.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip