This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Computer Information Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Computer Information Systems  

by Bonnie R. Nelson
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/computing Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are great for getting started in a new or unfamiliar field.

Encyclopedias provide:

  • Broad overview
  • Relevant terms used
  • Additional sources of information
 

Welcome

CIS (Computer Information Systems) majors and Forensic Computing masters students tend to turn first to the Internet--with its chat groups and search engines--when they are seeking information, and for good reason.  Much of the time all they need to know is available within seconds at the click of a mouse.

There is, however, a whole other world of published information available through subscription and purchase that can be tremendously useful to students (and faculty) studying computer technology.  This guide will highlight some of those resources.

 

Online Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Internet technologies and applications (2008) - Mario Freire, Manuela Pereira, editors.
ISBN: 9781591409939
Provides the most thorough examination of Internet technologies and applications for researchers in a variety of related fields.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security (2008) - Marian Quigley
Call Number: HM851 .E555 2008
ISBN: 9781591409878
A comprehensive reference source on ethical and security issues relating to the latest technologies. Topics include computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and education. For students, academics, and professionals. Also available in print in the Lloyd Sealy Library.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of information science and technology (2005) - Mehdi Khosrow-Pour, editor
ISBN: 159140553X
Covers a complete range of topics that define the contemporary state of knowledge on technology and its organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications; the online version of a 5-volume encyclopedia.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of mobile computing and commerce (2007) - David Taniar, editor
ISBN: 9781599040028
A comprehensive assessment of factors, trends, and issues in the ever-changing field of mobile computing and commerce; the electronic version of a 2-volume encyclopedia.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip