Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ancient Classics Philosophy and Mythology: Books and Databases

Guide for Library Research on Ancient Classics

Journal Search

To find an online journal available in the Lloyd Sealy collection, simply enter a title into the search box below.

Search for Journal Titles


Search JSTOR

Journals

Below are a list of journals where you can find serious and scholarly materials relating to Classics.

  • Acta Classica
  • Arethusa
  • Bryn Mawr Classical Review
  • Classical Antiquity
  • Classical Bulletin
  • Classical Journal
  • Classical Philology
  • Classical Quarterly
  • Classical Review
  • Classical World
  • Greece and Rome
  • Helios
  • Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology
  • Journal of Roman Studies
  • Mnemosyne

Loeb Classical Library

Loeb Classical Library

The Loeb Classical Library

The full range of Greek and Roman works containing the texts in both the original language and in translation on the opposite page. The entire collection is available in the Niederhoffer Lounge.

For a trial period the digital version of the collection is available! Click this Link to find out more!

The Origin of History

Herodotus

Herodotus
The Father of History and Historical Writing

***
The Histories of Herodotus
PA4002 .A2 2001 V1-4

War in Peloponnesia

Thucydides

Thucydides
Chronicler of the Peloponnesian War

***
The History of the Peloponnesian War
DF229 .T5 C713 2005

March of the Ten Thousand

Xenophon
Xenophon
Historian and Soldier

***
The Persian Expedition
PA4495 .A6 W3 1972

Greek and Roman Biographies

Plutarch

Plutarch
Historian and Biographer

***
Plutarch's Lives
PA4369 .A2 1968 V1-11

Eh Tu Brutus?!

Julius CaesarJulius Caesar
General and Author
Set in motion the end of the Roman Republic and the beginning of the Roman Empire

***
The Conquest of Gaul
DC62 .C2 H25 2003

The Revolt Against Rome

Flavius Josephus

Flavius Josephus
General and Historian

***
The Jewish War
DS122.8 .J733 1997 1-3

Books and Databases Available

This page is a listing of new and older books on the topic of the Classics that are available from the Lloyd Sealy Library collection, either as a physical book or an an e-book. Underneath the book images on this page, you should see a call number that you can use to locate the book. If it says "on order" then this is a book that is in the process of becoming part of the library collection but that is not available yet. If it is listed as an "Electronic Resource Ebook" then please search for the book in Onesearch or CUNY+ to get access to it. This page also provides a list of relevant journals and methods to search our collections. The material on this page is only a sampling of what is available for patrons to look at. If you are interested in finding more, please search through our collection using the search bars below.

Find books with OneSearch

Advanced search

Search for EbscoHost Ebooks

To search through the EbscoHost Ebook Collection for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

EbscoHost Ebooks Search

Search for Ebrary Ebooks

To search through Ebrary for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

ebrary

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Databases

The databases below are recommended for students who are looking for scholarly materials concerning Classics. Each of the databases listed below deals with the humanities and includes materials dealing with history and historical questions.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database that offers an enormous collection of valuable full-text journals. It is the leading source of peer-reviewed material including material topics such as the social science, humanities, and education among many other areas of study.

Art Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to articles in leading art periodicals from 1984 to the present.

Art Museum Image Gallery (EBSCO)
A rich digital source of images and related multimedia of ancient to contemporary art, gathered from museums around the world.

Biography Reference Center
Literature, science, business, politics - virtually every discipline is tied to people. This database provides full-text coverage of more than 450,000 biographies from screened, reliable journals, periodicals, newspapers, and web sites.

Classical Latin Texts 
A full-text database of ca. 350 authors of Latin literature, as well as various versions of the Bible and New Testament in Latin and Greek as well as Milton's Paradise Lost and Defensionem regiam.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) 
Full text of dissertations published from 1997 and abstracts from 1980. Also, Indexes close to two million dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe from 1861.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This database is a collection of over reference books and encylopedias that are searchable together or title by title.  It covers a variety of subjects largely from the social sciences and humanities such as history, philosophy, literature, education, and biography.
Historical Abstracts
Excluding the United States and Canada (that material is available in America: History and Life database), this resource covers the history of the world from the 15 century forward. It includes material from academic journals, books, and monographs.
JSTOR
JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. It covers most fields of study including education, history, literature, philosophy, political science, and sociology.
Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Philosopher's Index
A current bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy and related fields. The Philosopher’s Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including journals with content representing a variety of languages.
Project MUSE
This resource is focused on humanities and social sciences particularly including materials covering literature, history, cultural studies, and political science. It currently includes 325,000 articles from 241 publishers.

The Fathers of Greek Philosophy

The core of Ancient Greek Philosophy is based on the works of three men - Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle. All modern philosophy is based ultimately on their works. In  fact it could be said that all philosophy done since Socrates is just an attempt to repeat what he already said.

Socrates

Socrates
The Father of Philosophy

***
Conversations of Socrates by Xenophon
B312 .E5 T74 1990
The Collected Dialogues of Plato
 B358 .C57 1989

Plato

Plato
The Faithful Student of Socrates
Author of the Dialogues and The Republic

***
The Republic of Plato
JC71 .P35 1945b (Reserve)

Aristotle

Aristotle
Student of Plato and Teacher to Alexander the Great
Author of Poetics, Ethics, Nicomachea, and Works

***
The Complete Works of Aristotle
 B407 .S6 1984 v1-2

The Trojan War

Homer

Homer
Greek Poet
Author of The Illiad and the Odyssey

Iliad

The Iliad
PA4025 .A2 F5 

Odyssey

The Odyssey
PA4025 .A5 F5 1990

The Aftermath of the Trojan War

Virgil

The Latin Poet Virgil
Author of the Aeneid

***
The Aeneid
PA6807 .A5 F25 2008

Greek Comedy

Aristophanes

Aristophanes
The Father of Greek Comedy
Author of The Birds and Lysistrata

***
The Complete Plays of Aristophanes
PA3877 .A1 R57 2005

Greek Tragedy

These three men - Aeschylus, Euripides, and Sophocles - are the foundation of Greek Tragedy.

Aeschylus

Aeschylus
Author of The The Oresteia

***
The Oresteia
PA3827 .A7 S66 2008

Euripides

Euripides
Author of Medea, Bacchae, and Hippolytos

***
Three Plays of Euripides
PA3975 .A2 1974

Sophocles

Sophocles
Author of The Oedipus Rex Trilogy

***
The Oedipus Cycle
 PA4414 .A2 A7 1977

Ruler of Rome

Marcus Aurelius

Marcus Aurelius
Roman Emperor

***
The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius
B580 .C6 1908

Stoic Philosopher

Seneca

Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Essayist, Poet and Philosopher

***
Moral Essays of Seneca
BJ214 .S4 E5 1989 V1-3

The Last Statesman of the Roman Republic

Cicero

Marcus Tullius Cicero
Roman Politician and Orator

***
On the Commonwealth
PA6308.D8 S3