Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ancient Classics Philosophy and Mythology: Links and Resources

Guide for Library Research on Ancient Classics

Links

Links

On this page you will find links to a variety of Classics oriented resources available on the general web.

Texts

Library of Ancient Texts Online (LATO)
Aims to be the internet's most thorough catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation.

Perseus Digital Library
Texts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries.

Perseus under Philologic
Greek and Latin texts from the Pereus Digital Library are here accessed via the interface Philologic from the University of Chicago.

Roman Law Library
Searchable collection of primary Roman law texts.

Language

The Venus di Milo
 
The Venus di Milo
 
Ancient Greek Tutorials
Courtesy of the University of California Press

Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
From University of Notre Dame

TextKit: Greek and Latin Learning Tools
Online learning resource that provides downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers

Lloyd Sealy Library Video Search

Search the John Jay College Library Video Collection:

Links

The Course of Empire - Consumation by Thomas Cole

The Course of Empire - Consumation by Thomas Cole

Electronic Resources for Classicists 
Large directory of resources for classicists including bibliographic databases, and e-journals.

The Getty Museum
The J. Getty Museum California has a collection of Greek and Roman art.

Internet History Sourcebooks
Resource for the Ancient Mediterranean and Near East.

Library of Congress Research Page
An annotated list of reference sites on the web.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
A collection of Greek and Roman art.

Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in Classics
A collaborative project of the Classics Department of Princeton University and the Classics Department of Stanford University to make the results of current research undertaken by members of Princeton and Stanford Universities in the field of classics available in advance of final publication.

Theoi Greek Mythology 
Also known as the Theoi Project, a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. Created and edited by Aaron J. Atsma, New Zealand.

Thesaurus Lingua Graecae
A searchable database of Greek authors and works.

Voice of the Shuttle : Classical Studies Collection
A large index of links to various classical resources from the University of California at Santa Barbara.

Shakespeare Subject Guide

Hamlet and the Gravediggers by Pascal Adolphe Jean Dagnan-Bouveret

Hamlet and the Gravediggers by Pascal Adolphe Jean Dagnan-Bouveret

The Lloyd Sealy Library has a subject guide on Shakespeare and his works. Click HERE to take a look!

Loeb Classical Library

The Loeb Classical Library

The Loeb Classical Library

The Full Range of Greek and Roman works containing the texts in both the original language and in translation on the opposite page. The entire collection is available in the Niederhoffer Lounge.

For a trial period the digital version of the collection is available! Click this Link to find out more!

Blogs

King Leonidas of Sparta

King Leonidas of Sparta

Ancient World Online (AWOL) 
Courtesy of Charles Ellwood Jones, Librarian at the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at NYU.

Bestiaria Latina Blog
Blog of Laura Gibbs, an instructor at the University of Oklahoma

Joint Library of the Hellenic & Roman Societies / Institute of Classical Studies Library
The Library is maintained jointly with the Societies for the Promotion of Hellenic and Roman Studies and in association with the Institute of Classical Studies (University of London).

Rogueclassicism
A blog about Ancient Greece and Rome

Roman Times
An online magazine about the Roman Empire and the civilizations that interacted with it or contributed to the development of its culture.