Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Art and Artists: Photography

Resources on Art History and Art Museums in NYC, based on the course offerings in the Art and Music Department at John Jay College, by Ellen Belcher

Keywords

Try using some of the words and terms in the subject heading suggestions below. Tips for searching:

It is important to add the word AND to narrow your result. Examples: Photography AND History * Photographers AND 20th Century * Photography AND Crime

You can also use the term OR to broaden your result within a search box. Example: Photography OR Photographer OR Photographs

Finding Articles on Photography

Try searching the following library databases - you may need to click on the icon:Find it! Search for full text.  A new window will open to find the actual article - we might not have access to all journals indexed in these databases.

Journal Article Indexes

Academic Search Complete  Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY.

America: History and Life Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Access: John Jay

Art Abstracts  Index to articles in leading periodicals in the Arts from 1984 to the present. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Humanities Source  Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, literature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Specialized Encyclopedia Articles

Gale Virtual Reference Library Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in a wide variety of subject fields including art, music and world cultures.Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Oxford Art Online Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. Dictionary of Art from Grove, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with updates and links to images. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Very Short Introductions Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences. Access: John Jay

Photography Books in the Lloyd Sealy Library

For books on photography, search the library catalog, CUNY+ - the following subject headings are recommended. Note that many of the results are e-books and streaming videos. Try using some of the words and terms below as keyword and keyword in subject searches, using the term AND in between them. An example is: Photography AND History

Documentary photography

Photographers -- United States -- Biography -- Biography

Photographers -- United States -- History -- 19th century

Photography -- History

Photography -- Digital techniques -- Handbooks, manuals, etc

Photography -- Digital techniques

Photography, Artistic

Photography -- History -- 20th century

Historiography and photography

Try also searching MetPublications A freely available portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive book and online publishing program with close to 700 titles published from 1964 to the present.

"Mug Shots" and Identification Photographs

"Mug Shots"  and Crime Scene Photographs are actually called Identification Photographs or Legal Photography by law enforcement and forensic professionals. The John Jay Library has several books on this topic. Find them by searching the subjects  Identification photographs or  Legal photography try searching the keywords * Crime and Photographs * Criminals and Portraits.

Many of the photographs available in the John Jay Library's Digital Collections are digitized from our large collection of "Mug Shots" and "Crime Scene Photographs".

Here is a selection of books on these topics in our library:

Finn, Jonathan M. Capturing the criminal image : from mug shot to surveillance society. Stacks - HV6071 .F46 2009 [Also available as an e-book.]

Pellicer, Raynal. Mug shots : an archive of the famous, infamous, and most wanted. - Stacks - TR681.F3 P4313 2009

Michaelson, Mark. Least wanted : a century of American mugshots. Reference - TR680 .L43 2006

Papi, Giacomo. Under arrest : a history of the twentieth century in mugshots. Stacks - TR681 .F3 P3613 2006b

Papi, Giacomo. Booked : the last 150 years told through mug shots. Reference - TR681 .F3 P3613 2006

Scene of the crime : photographs from the LAPD archive. Stacks - TR822 .S28 2004

Digitally Available Photography Collections

These are just a few of the many digital collections freely available from Museum, Library and other institution websites.

Digital Collections, Lloyd Sealy Library Photographs, images and other materials digitized from the Special Collections at John Jay College Library. Try searching on the term "Photographs" for hundreds of digitized photographs from the collections.

Flickr: the Commons  The project currently includes over 200,000 images (mostly photographs) from more than 50 international cultural heritage institutions.

NYC Department of Records and Municipal Archives Photo Gallery the online gallery now totals more than 900,000--the largest collection of historical images of New York City in the world. Read the full press release. The Online Gallery provides free and open research access to items digitized from the Municipal Archives' collections, including photographs, maps, motion-pictures and audio recordings.

NYPL Digital Collections Explore 673,464 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (LOC) Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.