Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Art and Artists: Rennaisance Art

Resources on Art History and Art Museums in NYC, based on the course offerings in the Art and Music Department at John Jay College, by Ellen Belcher

Find books using the Classic CUNY+ Catalog

To search through the CUNY+ catalog for books or e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Keyword(s):

Books on Renaissance Art - A selection

Try seaching the CUNY+ library catalog by choosing "Keyword in Subject" with the search terms "Art AND Renaissance" [you could also add a country if applicable to your research]

Here's a selection of books available from the Library

Charles, Victoria (2012) Renaissance Art. - Available as an e-book

Hendrix, John. (2010) Renaissance theories of vision. Available as an e-book

A companion to Renaissance and Baroque art. - Available as an e-book

Merback, Mitchell B. (1999) The thief, the Cross, and the wheel: pain and the spectacle of punishment in medieval and Renaissance Europe. Stacks - N8257 .M47 1999

Panofsky, Erwin. (1972 [1960]) Renaissance and renascences in Western art. Available as an e-book

Re-thinking Renaissance Objects. Available as an e-book

Finding Articles on Renaissance Art

Try searching the following library databases - you may need to click on the icon:Find it! Search for full text.  A new window will open to find the actual article - we might not have access to all journals indexed in these databases.

Journal Article Indexes

Academic Search Complete  Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY.

Art Abstracts  Index to articles in leading periodicals in the Arts from 1984 to the present. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Humanities Source  Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, literature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

JSTOR A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals. To focus on a discipline, select Narrow by Discipline  -- e.g., (252 titles). Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Specialized Encyclopedia Articles

Gale Virtual Reference Library Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in a wide variety of subject fields including art, music and world cultures.Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Oxford Art Online Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. Dictionary of Art from Grove, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with updates and links to images. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Very Short Introductions Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences. Access: John Jay

Search JSTOR

Web resources on Renaissance Art

The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research project centering on the classical tradition, a focus of Renaissance studies. The core of the project is the database registering antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in form of texts and images.

The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts.

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Subject Guide

Ellen Belcher's picture
Ellen Belcher
Contact:
Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

899 Tenth Ave

New York City 10019

(212)237-8238