Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Art and Artists: Articles on Art

Resources on Art History and Art Museums in NYC, based on the course offerings in the Art and Music Department at John Jay College, by Ellen Belcher

More databases and Resources on Art

Try looking in the Library's list of suggested databases on Art and suggested resources for Images for more resources to search.

Finding Articles on Art

Try searching the following library databases - you may need to click on the icon:Find it! Search for full text.  A new window will open to find the actual article - we might not have access to all journals indexed in these databases.

Journal Article Indexes

Academic Search Complete  Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY.

America: History and Life Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Access: John Jay

Art Abstracts  Index to articles in leading periodicals in the Arts from 1984 to the present. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Humanities Source  Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, literature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Specialized Encyclopedia Articles

Gale Virtual Reference Library Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in a wide variety of subject fields including art, music and world cultures.Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Oxford Art Online Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. Dictionary of Art from Grove, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with updates and links to images. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science. Alternate access via library barcode Access: CUNY

Very Short Introductions Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences. Access: John Jay

How Do Peer-Reviewed Articles Differ From Popular Ones?

This 3 minute video from the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University talks about the differences between popular and scholarly articles.  It also mentions trade publications. 

Search JSTOR

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Databases

Search Biography Reference Center

To search through the EbscoHost Biography Reference Center for biographies and other materials, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Biography Reference Center

Subject Guide

Ellen Belcher's picture
Ellen Belcher
Contact:
Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

899 Tenth Ave

New York City 10019

(212)237-8238