Science: General

Journals:  (contain peer reviewed articles)

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Journal of the American Medical Association.

Lancet.

New England Journal of Medicine.

Journal of immunology.

JOVE: the Journal of Visualized Experiments.  A video journal for demonstrating laboratory techniques.  (Mostly open -source but unfortunately not all articles are available).

Magazines: (written for the general public; do not contain peer reviewed articles)

Scientific American. 

New Scientist. 

Science news. 

Popular science. 

American Chemical Society. 

American Museum of Natural History. 

IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature.  (the world’s oldest and largest global environmental organization.)

NASA.  National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

National Academy of Sciences.

NOAA.   federal agency focusing on oceans and atmosphere (includes weather and climate)

Nobel Prize official website. 

Public Library of Science blogs and journals for biology & medicine.

Science.gov is a gateway to the enormous amounts of information produced by U.S.  Federal scientists.  Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies.

Smithsonian. National Museum of Natural History.

United States Geological Survey. 

World Wildlife Fund. 

These collections allow you to search across multiple different encyclopedias and dictionaries.  Using an encyclopedia is a great way to start your research, by getting an overview of the topic. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library.    Full text of more than 250 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, etc.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Oxford Reference Online Premium.   Access to over 175 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Sage e-Reference Collection.  A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.