Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

International Criminal Justice: Scholarly Articles and Library databases

This libguide focuses on resources that are helpful for courses in the International Criminal Justice major at John Jay College.

Library databases

Scholarly articles

Where to look for scholarly articles? Despite the fact that the academic world has changed drastically in the last decade and made research more open and accessible thanks to the internet, scholarly articles are still a commodity and are available in many instances only in the commercial bibliographic databases, i.e. through the library, where you have to be identified as a legitimate user. Keep in mind that databases can contain more than articles, so analyze the results of your search and mark off the search box to include only scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles in the search.

Familiarize yourself with the databases offered through your library by reading their description, studying the library recommended subject guides or just talking to the librarians. Some databases are strictly specialized; some are aggregators that will search through journals covering several disciplines that can be encompassed into the area of international criminal justice. Check the listing of the library databases in the box on your right for the list of suggested specialized library databases-->. 


Other databases

There is a way to search multiple library databases simultaneously. The simultaneous, or federated, search in Lloyd Sealy Library is called Hound Hunt.

Hound Hunt for Criminal Justice searches for books and articles together. It will search the CUNY+ library catalog, and criminal justice article databases such as Criminal Justice Abstracts, Criminal Justice Periodicals Index, and others. NOTE: This federated search isn't as thorough as searching each databases separately, but it's a good place to start.

Advanced 360 Search

 

The list of all library databases can be found here. You can browse them by subjects to narrow down your choice.

Library databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts - Excellent source of scholarly articles, books, chapters in books, government reports and dissertations. Some international publications are included with in-depth abstracts in English.  The same platform allows having access to other CSA databases: Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Abstracts.

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index - Provides information from practitioners’ point of view; includes police and other law enforcement professional, or trade, publications as well as scholarly journals.

EBSCOhost – provider of over a hundred specialized databases covering practically all areas of knowledge. The search can be performed either in an individual database or in multiple databases simultaneously. Databases that you might find useful are Academic Search, MasterFILE, International Political Science Abstracts, International Security & Counterterrorism Reference Center, Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, Military & Government Collection, National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts, Newspaper Source, Peace Research Abstracts, SocIndex, Urban Studies Abstracts, Violence & Abuse Abstracts.

Hein Online - is the world's largest image-based legal research database. Publications are organized into separate sets based on the U.S. or international focus (for example, European Center for Minority Issues, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Treaties and Agreements Library, United Nations Law Collection, World Trials Library) and available in full-text access cover-to-cover.

JSTOR – a collection of complete runs of hundreds of academic journals in full-text except for the current issues (last 2-5 years depending on the copyright agreements between the JSTOR and the publishers).

LexisNexis Academic Legal Research part of LexisNexis Academic has access to a vast collection of law reviews. News part allows searching for newspaper and magazine articles in English and some other languages. LexisNexis Statistical provides data from state and federal government reports, private sector sources, and international intergovernmental organizations.

NCJRS Library/Abstracts – (also available through EBSCOhost). Free database of criminal justice literature from around the world. Excellent thesaurus of criminal justice terms.

Oxford Criminology Bibliography Online - Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in criminal justice and law enforcement with links to the full text of sources when available.

Project MUSE - online database of more than 200 journals in humanities and social sciences from nonprofit publishers.

SAGE Criminology Collection – allows searching for articles in twenty four criminal justice journals.

Scopus - Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text - indexes more than 415 English-language periodicals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.

SocINDEX with Full Text - A new index for sociology; contains full text for 253 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals; also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for thousands conference papers.

Springerlink - Hundreds of scholarly journals published by Springer and an index to Springer Books. Coverage from 1997 to the present.

Urban Studies Abstracts - Database with abstracts of articles and reports about crime and other urban problems, possible solutions, studies of police departments, social welfare agencies, etc. Links to fulltext for many items.  

WorldLII  - the World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) collects legal materials on international level and provides free access to them through its website.