Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

International Criminal Justice: Books

This libguide focuses on resources that are helpful for courses in the International Criminal Justice major at John Jay College.

Books in CUNY

Use the CUNY+ catalog to find print, electronic books and other materials in John Jay's Lloyd Sealy Library.


The catalog can be also searched by Author, Title, ISBN, Subject, etc.


You can search ALL CUNY libraries or a specific CUNY library as well.



For a quick start searching the catalog use the box below:

Keyword(s):

You can also search Worldcat that connects many library catalogs around the word at once. The results of the search will vary based on the IP of the computer that you are using right now. Set up your computer to search for zip code 10019 to get the results from John Jay College library.



Suggested books

It is practically impossible to list all the books available in the library that can be used for the research assignments in the International Criminal Justice. Here is a very short list of some titles that can be referred to when looking for background information.

Reichel, P. (Ed.) (2004). Handbook of transnational crime and justice. Thousand Oaks, CA:Sage. Reference HV6252.H36 2005

Reichel, P. (2005). Comparative criminal ljustice systems: a topical approach. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall. RESERVE HV 7419.R45 2005 and REFERENCE HV 7419.R45 2005

Dressler, J. (Ed.) (2nd e.d.) (2002). Encyclopedia of crime and justice. New York: Macmillan. Reference HV6017.E52 2002 and ebook

Levinson, D. (Ed.) (20020). Encyclopedia of crime and punishment. Thousand Oaks, CA:Sage. Reference HV 6017 .E524 2002 and ebook

Newman, G. (Ed.) (2010). Crime and punishment around the world. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. Reference HV6025 .C7115 2010  and Reference Desk HV6025 .C7115 2010 and ebook.

Kritzer H. (Ed.) (2002). Legal systems of the world: a political, social and cutlural encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. Reference Law K48.L44 2002

Lewis, J.& Skutsch, C. (Eds.). (2001). The human rights encyclopedia. Armonk, NY: Sharpe.  Reference JC 571.L523

Shelton, D. (Ed.) (2005). Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity. Detroit: Thomson Gale.  Reference HV 6322.7.E532 2005

Shoahm, S. (Ed.) (2010). International Handbook of Victimology. Boca Raton: CRC. ebook

Sullivan, L, Haberfeld, M., Rosen, M. & Schulz, D. (Eds.). Encyclopedia of law enforcement. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.  Reference HV 7921. E53 2005

Morrison, A., Mann, B. (2004). International government information and country information: a subject guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. Reference ZA5050. M67 2004

Juvenile delinquency in Europe and beyond : results of the second international self-report delinquency study. (2009). New York: Springer.   Reference HV9069 .J7943 2009


E-Books

The library collects many books in electronic format. Two databases that have most of e-books in the area of ICJ are EBRARY and EBOOKS collection from EbscoHost (formerly known as NetLibrary). These collections can be browsed by keywords or subjects. The title records for e-books are also available in the library catalog CUNY+.

Sage E-Reference has a great collection of encyclopedias in criminal justice. Some of them are international in scope.

CRC netbase ebooks are suitable for ICJ (You can open any CRC netbase collection and then perform a keyword search in the right top corner box). 

More detailed information on electronic books collections in John Jay College Library can be found in EBOOKS libguide.

Dissertations

Do not forget that excellent sources of hard-to-find information are dissertations. The library subscribes to Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations).

There is also a free database of international dissertations called the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).

When you find an interesting dissertationi on your topic, check the Reference List for the sources the author has used. Check the titles of the books and journals in CUNY+ to see if the Library has them. Also, read the introduction - this will help you to see how a research topic is developed.


Other Libraries

Check this libguide on Other Libraries if you cannot find enough materials at John Jay College Library. It will provide information on inter-CUNY borrowing system and many public libraries in New York area.