Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ebooks: ACLS Humanities Ebooks

About ACLS Humanities Ebooks

 

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 3,300 books of high quality in the humanities. An additional 500 books are added annually. These books are available on an unlimited basis so many users can use the same book at the same time. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

How to Search for Books in ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Click on ACLS Humanities Ebooks (or, to find the collection from the Library's homepage, choose Databases A to Z, and then A). Once you are in the collection, click on search. You will get a search form:

That allows you to perform a basic search. Use pulldown menus to search in the fulltext or by field, or search in the entire collection of ACLS Humanities E-books or a special collection (i.e. Cambridge Film Classics, John Harvard Library). Click on More Tips if you want to get the most out of your search.

Results display in simple format:

Click on the Table of Contents link to navigate chapter by chapter.

Printing in ACLS Humanities Ebooks

To print or download a chapter at a time, go to the chapter and then click on pdf or the download button.                 

Use the print icon on the Adobe Acrobat toolbar to print. ACLS only allows you to print or download up to  ten pages at a time.