Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ebooks: Encyclopedias and other Reference Materials

Encyclopedia and Dictionary Collections

The Library has an extensive collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries. Read the descriptions as some collections or individual titles are better for certain subjects and disciplines. The following is a list of available sources:

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences (JOHN JAY USE ONLY)
Electronic equivalent of the 3-volume encyclopedia.
 
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (CUNY USE ONLY)
Electronic equivalent of the classic multidisciplinary reference work.
  Alternate access via library barcode

Gale Virtual Reference Library (CUNY USE ONLY)
Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.
  Alternate access via library barcode

Grolier Online (CUNY USE ONLY)
Contains the Encyclopedia Americana, the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and the New Book of Knowledge.
  Alternate access via library barcode

Oxford Art Online (CUNY USE ONLY)
Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. "Dictionary of Art" from Grove, "The Oxford Companion to Western Art," "Encyclopedia of Aesthetcis," and "The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms," with updates and links to images.
  Alternate access via library barcode

Oxford English Dictionary Online (CUNY USE ONLY)
The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series. The worldwide standard source for English word definitions, word pronunciation, word history and usage.
 
Oxford Music Online (CUNY USE ONLY)
Comprises "The Oxford Dictionary of Music," "Grove Music Online," and "The Oxford Companion to Music."
  Alternate access via library barcode

Oxford Reference Online Premium (CUNY USE ONLY)
Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.
  Alternate access via library barcode

Sage e-Reference Collection (JOHN JAY USE ONLY)
A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.
 
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Entries are maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. Access is unlimited and free to everyone.