Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ebooks: Home

Find ebooks using OneSearch

Find ebooks in OneSearch

 

Tip when searching for ebooks

OneSearch is a discovery tool that aggregates data from hundreds of different sources. This can result in incomplete search results.   If you know the source of the ebook, e.g., that it is part of the ebrary, CRC or another ebook collection, and you do not find it using OneSearch, try searching the collection or the CUNY+ catalog directly.

Overview of Ebook Collections

The college has several ebook collections, both multi-disciplinary and subject-specific like the CRC Netbase collections and PsycBooks.  We also have many e-reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries and handbooks. Use the tabs at the top of this guide for more information about our various collections.

NOTE: Although most ebooks allow for an unlimited number of simultaneous users, there are exceptions.  Before assigning an ebook to an entire class, check the title to determine how many users can simultaneously access the ebook.

Downloading to Devices

All ebooks can be read online (HTML) as long as you are connected to the internet.

Most ebooks can also be downloaded in one of two ways:

  1. As a PDF image that can be read with Adobe Reader software that lets you read, search, print, and interact with virtually any type of PDF file, or 
  2. Using Adobe Digital Editions, which is a freely available system for viewing  and managing ebooks, that must be installed on your device.


Ebooks downloaded as PDFs can typically only be downloaded a chapter at a time and the file never expires.

Ebooks downloaded using Adobe Digital Editions,  can usually be downloaded in their entirety but expire after a set period of time such as 14 days.

Go to the Ebooks from Ebsco Tab, the Ebrary Tab, or the Freely Available Ebooks Tab for information about downloading books from these collections to your devices.