Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Special Collections - Lloyd Sealy Library: Works Written from Research in our Special Collections

This is a guide to the Manuscript Collections, Rare Books and John Jay College Archives in the Special Collections at the Lloyd Sealy Library of John Jay College of Criminal Justice.

Books and Articles inspired by our Special Collections

Fesperman, Dan (2016) The Letter Writer: A Novel. Knopf.
 
Cole, Dan. (2009).  Suspect Identities: A History of Fingerprinting and Criminal Identification
 
From research with our collections on the NYPD
Darien, Andrew T (2013) Becoming New York's finest; Race, gender, and the integration of the NYPD, 1935-1980. Basingstoke, Palgrave Macmillan
   This book is available as an e-book to CUNY users (log in required) 
 
From research in our Fraud and Swindles Collection
Arnsdorf, Isaac (2011) Ponzi’s Best Publicist: The Expose of Charles Ponzi and the Contest for the Soul of the Middle Class. Unpublished Undergraduate Thesis, Yale University.
 
Reading, Amy. (2013) The Mark Inside, A Perfect A Perfect Swindle, a Cunning Revenge, and a Small History of the Big Con. Knopf.
 
From Research in our Normal Johnston Collection of Prison Plans
Gracenea. Iñaki. (2015) SELFCODE

 

From research in our Shibels Family Papers
Freeland, David, (2009). Automats, taxi dances, and vaudeville: excavating Manhattan's lost places of leisure. NYU Press. [Available as an e-book to CUNY users]
 
From research in our Burton Turkus Papers.
Clark, Neil G (2017) Dock Boss: Eddie McGrath and The West Side Waterfront. Barricade Books
 
Whalen, Robert (2016) Murder Inc. and the Moral Life: Gangsters and Gangbusters in LaGuardia’s New York. Fordham University Press
 
From research in our Papers of Lewis Lawes, Warden of Sing Sing 1920-1941
Griffiths, A.
(2013). A Portal to the Outside World: Motion Pictures in the Penitentiary. Film History, 25(4), 1-35. doi:10.2979/filmhistory.25.4.1
(2016). Carceral Fantasies: Cinema and Prison in Early Twentieth-Century America. Columbia University Press.
 
Bernstein, L. (2013).
The Hudson River School of Incarceration: Sing Sing Prison in Antebellum New York. American Nineteenth Century History, 14(3), 261-282. doi:10.1080/14664658.2013.822145
 
Blumenthal, Ralph (2004)
Miracle at Sing Sing: How one man transformed the lives of America's most dangerous criminals. (New York: St. Martins Press) Stacks - HV9470 .B58 2004

Goewey, David (2005)
Crash out : the true tale of a Hell's Kitchen kid and the bloodiest escape in Sing Sing history. (New York: Crown) Reserve - HV8658 .R56 G64 2005

 
For more works written from research with our transcript collection, see this page

Donovan, Brian. (2016). Respectability on Trial: Sex Crimes in New York City, 1900-1918.  SUNY Press

Livingston, J. D. (2010).
Arsenic and clam chowder: murder in gilded age New York. Albany, NY: Excelsior Editions, State University of New York Press. Stacks - HV6534 .N5 L58 2010
Recounts the sensational 1896 Manhattan murder trial [our Criminal Trial Transcript #70] of Mary Alice Livingston Fleming.
 
Murphy, Caite. (2010)  
Scoundrels in law: The trials of Howe and Hummel, lawyers to the gangsters, cops,
starlets, and rakes who made the Gilded Age. Washington D.C.: Smithsonian. Stacks - KF355 .N4 M87 2010
Based in part on many cases in our Criminal Trial Transcript Collection which record the courtroom drama in the Court of General Sessions, New York County, a story of the most colorful and notorious law firm in American history.
 
From research in our Flora Rheta Screiber Papers
Borch-Jacobsen, M. (2000)  
Folies à plusieurs:de l'hystérie à la dépression. Paris: Empecheurs de Penser en Rond. Stacks -BF173 .B67 2002
 
Nathan, D. (2011)
Sybil Exposed: the extraordinary story behind the famous multiple personality case.  (New York: Free Press). Stacks- RC569.5 .M8 N38 2011
 
Rieber, R. W. (2006)
 
Suraci, Patrick (2011)
Sybil In Her Own Words: The Untold Story of Shirley Mason, Her Multiple Personalities and Paintings. (New York: Privately published) special collections room- RC569.5 .M8 S87 2011
 
From research in our Theatre for the Forgotten Collection
 Bernstein, Lee (2010)
 
Tocci, Laurence (2007)
The proscenium cage: critical case studies in U.S. prison theatre programs. Youngstown, N.Y. : Cambria Press. Stacks - HV8861 .T63 2007
 
From research in the Robert Martinson Papers in our Records for Knowledge in Criminal Justice Planning:
Brown, Michelle (2009)
The culture of punishment : prison, society, and spectacle. (New York: New York University Press) Stacks - HV8756 .B76 2009
 
 
 

 

     

Bibliography of works related to our Trial Transcript Collection

Books and Articles related to New York County, Court of General Sessions:              
Arons, Ron (2008) The Jews of Sing Sing: Gotham Gangsters and Gonuvim. Fort Lee: Barricade Books. Stacks - HV6194 .J4 A76 2008
 
Bromberg W and Thompson C. (1937) “The relation of psychosis, mental defect and personality types to crime.” Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology; 28/1 pp. 70-89.
Presents the findings resulting from the study of 9958 prisoners, conducted for four years in the Psychiatric Clinic of the Court of General Sessions.
 
Chauncey, G. (1994) Gay New York:  gender, urban culture, and the making of the gay male world, 1890-1940.  New York: Basic Books. Stacks - HQ 76.2 .U52 N53 1994.
Used sodomy cases related to bath houses in the Court of General Sessions Transcripts at John Jay as a resource for this book.
 
Donovan, B. (2005), “Gender Inequality and Criminal Seduction: Prosecuting Sexual Coercion in the Early-20th Century.” Law and Social Inquiry, 30 pp. 61–88.
Analyzes narratives of sexual consent and coercion in 15 criminal seduction cases as recorded in transcripts in the John Jay Collection.
 
Faber, E.and Rowland, E. (1989). Trial transcripts of the County of New York, 1883-1927: a historical introduction with an index to the microfilm collection. New York: John Jay Press.
 
Arsenic and clam chowder: murder in gilded age New York. Albany : Excelsior Editions, State University of New York Press, 2010. Stacks - HV6534 .N5 L58 2010
Detailed account of a murder for inheritance in a famous NYC family, and the trial (our trial number 70).
 
Messinger, Emanuel and  Apfelberg, Benjamin C. (1961) “A Quarter Century of Court Psychiatry.” Crime & Delinquency, 7/4, pp. 343-362
This study surveys a quarter of a century of continuous operation of the Psychiatric Clinic of the Court of General Sessions of New York County
 
Mcillwain, Jeffrey Scott (March 1997) “From tong war to organized crime: Revising the historical perception of violence in Chinatown.” Justice Quarterly  14, 1 pp. 25-52.
Used the Court of General Sessions, New York County transcripts amongst other primary and secondary documents in this study.
 
Murphy, Cait (2010)
Scoundrels in law: the trials of Howe & Hummel, lawyers to the gangsters, cops, starlets, and rakes who made the Gilded Age. New York, N.Y.: Smithsonian Books
Stacks-KF355 .N4 M87 2010
This law firm regularly and famously represented defendants in the Court of General Sessions and many other NYC Courts.  Many of our transcripts were used as reference for this book.
 
Robertson, S. (2002), “Making Right a Girl's Ruin: Working-Class Legal Cultures and Forced Marriage in New York City, 1890–1950.” Journal of American Studies 36: pp. 199-230
___________(2002) Age of Consent Law and the Making of Modern Childhood in New York City, 1886—1921 Journal of Social History 35.4 pp. 781-798.
Used several transcripts in the John Jay Collection as material for these and forthcoming studies.
 
Towne, A. (July,1922) "Young Girl Marriages in Criminal and Juvenile Courts,"
Journal of Social Hygiene, 8 pp. 297-306.
Refers to certain cases heard in the Court of General Sessions and other Courts.
General Resources on the History of New York City                                                       
Jackson, K., ed. (1993) Encyclopedia of New York City.  New York: Yale University Press.
Useful for concise articles on a variety of NYC history subjects.  Particularly recommended are the articles on Crime and Courts. Reference – E128.7 G64
 
New York Times Historical Index: Accessible via the John Jay Library webpage, under shortcuts to popular databases provides online access The New York Times from 1851 – 5 years ago.
 
A Selection of Books about the History of New York City Crime:                                 
Abelson, E. S. (1992). When Ladies Go a-Thieving: Middle-Class Shoplifters in the Victorian Department Store.  New York: Oxford University Press. Stacks - HV 6658 .A24 1992
 
Alexander, R. M. (1995) The girl problem:  female sexual delinquency in New York, 1900-1930.  Ithaca : Cornell University Press, 1995. Stacks - HV 9105 .N7 A67 1995
 
Arnold, M. H. (1989). “The Life of a Citizen in the Hands of a Woman: Sexual Assault in New York City, 1790–1820.” In , K. Peiss and C. Simmons eds. Passion and Power: Sexuality in History Philadelphia: Temple University Press. Stacks – HQ18 U5 P37 1989
 
Crapsey, E. (1872). The Nether Side of New York. Montclair, N.J., Patterson Smith.
Stacks - HV6795.N5 C8 1969
 
Fried, A. (1980). The Rise and Fall of the Jewish Gangster in America. New York: Holt, Rinehart, and Winston. Stacks - HV6194 .J4 F74
 
Gilfoyle, T. J. A pickpocket's tale:  the underworld of nineteenth-century New York.
Stacks - HV6653 .A66 G55 2006
 
Gilfoyle, T. J. (1992). City of Eros: New York City, Prostitution, and theCommercialization of Sex, 1820-1920. New York, N.Y.: W.W. Norton  Stacks - HQ 146 .N7 .G55 1992
 
Monkkonen, E. H. (2001). Murder in New York City. Berkeley: University of California Press.  Stacks - HV 6534 .N5 M65 2001
 
Odem, M. E (1995) Delinquent daughters: protecting and policing adolescent female sexuality in the United States, 1885-1920.  Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press.
 Stacks - HQ 27.5 .O34 1995 (available as e-book from our CUNY+ Catalog)
 
Reagan, L. J. (1997) When abortion was a crime:  women, medicine, and law in the United States, 1867-1973.  This study utilized the Chicago Coroner’s records and court transcripts. See: http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/archives/homicide.html
Stacks & Reserve - HQ 767.5 .U5 R378 1997 (available as e-book from CUNY+ Catalog)
 
Sante, L. (1992). Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old New York. New York: Vintage Books Stacks - F128.47 .S23 1992
 
Robertson, S. (1998): "Signs, Marks and Private Parts: Doctors, Legal Discourses and Evidence of Rape in the United States, 1823-1930," Journal of the History of Sexuality 8/3: 372-385.
 
Schatzberg, R. (1993). Black organized crime in Harlem, 1920-1930. New York : Garland Pub. Stacks - HV 6452 .N7 S34 1993
 
Sutton, C. (1973). The New York Tombs: Its Secrets and Its Mysteries. Montclair, N.J., Patterson Smith. Stacks - HV9481.N62 T68 1973
 
Tappan, P. W. (1969). Delinquent girls in court; a study of the Wayward Minor.  Montclair, N.J., Patterson Smith. Stacks - KFX 2007.35 .T3 1969