Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Special Collections - Lloyd Sealy Library: John Jay College Archives

This is a guide to the Manuscript Collections, Rare Books and John Jay College Archives in the Special Collections at the Lloyd Sealy Library of John Jay College of Criminal Justice.

Consulting Special Collections

If after checking the listings and links below you have determined that what you need is not available elsewhere and you would like to make an appointment to consult John Jay College Archives materials please contact us at libspcoll [at] jjay.cuny.edu.

We welcome donations of all John Jay College materials to the Archives! If you have something to donate, please get in touch.

About the John Jay College Archives

The John Jay College Archives are part of the Special Collections of the Lloyd Sealy Library. It comprises approximately 400 linear feet of records from 1965 to the present and documents the college’s administrative, faculty and staff offices as well as students’ organizations and publications. The archives holds a wide variety of material such as correspondence, reports, studies, newspapers, newsletters, brochures, college yearbooks, bulletins, audiotapes, videotapes, photographs, and architectural plans.  

The college archives includes minutes, correspondence, reports, publications and printed materials in the records various administrative offices such as the President’s Office, the Vice Presidents' Offices, the Office of Public Relations, the College Council, the Student Council, the Office of Institutional Research. Also included are reports, publications and minutes of faculty bodies such as the Faculty Senate; files of various academic departments and offices and student groups. Please inquire about these materials and to make an appointment to consult them in our Special Collections Room.

Some of the most requested materials in the College Archives are also available online including college council proceedings, historical photographs; college commencement programs; undergraduate and graduate course bulletins; yearbooks, and promotional materials of the college.

For John Jay publications and reports in the Library it is recommended to browse the stacks and open special collections under call numbers LD2602 .J27 -LD2602 .J299.

Here is a list of where many John Jay College materials can be found:

College Bulletins

Media and News Clippings about John Jay College

College Council Records

  • Agendas and minutes are available online (2010-present), digitally available (2006-2009) and in the Library (1984-2007)
  • Additional records, including earlier College Charters, minutes and subcommittee minutes are available by appointment in our Special Collections Room

John Jay College Publications and Reports

Office of Institutional Research Publications

  • Fact Book digitally available and in the Library (1990 - present) 
  • various OIR surveys are available online and in the library as well as by appointment
  • For other OIR reports in the library please check the catalog, nearly all OIR reports are arranged chronologically in our Special Collections Room and are available to consult by appointment.

   The materials in the John Jay College Archives are available by appointment with the Special Collections Librarian

John Jay College of Criminal Justice in the News

Loading

College Archives in The News

Loading