Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

NYPD - Historical and Current Research: Archival and Unique Resources on Police and Law Enforcement in the Special Collections of Lloyd Sealy Library and other Institutions

This is a guide mainly focusing on the history of the NYPD, but modern sources are covered too. By Ellen Belcher

Manuscript Collections on Police/Law Enforcement in the Special Collections Room, Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College

THOMAS COXON ACTON PAPERS (1861-1895)

These 110 letters written by Acton document his career as a member (1860-63), and president (1863-69) of the Board of Police Commissioners of the City of New York.

AINSLEY C. ARMSTRONG COLLECTION (1896-1934)

These papers document the 41 year career of Ainsley Armstrong in the Boston Police Department.  A finding aid is available. 

LOUIS ANEMONE COLLECTION

Materials produced and collected by Chief Louis Anemone during his 35 year career with the the NYPD.

COMMISSIONER JAMES BOLAN PAPERS

Documents in this collections mainly date to Bolan's short term as NYPD Police Commissioner in 1933, but some date to the succeeding terms Commissioners O’Ryan and Valentine. .  Materials include typescripts of various radio addresses and speeches by Bolan and others. Particularly interesting are reports describing the work of various police bureaus, most undated, but presumably dating to 1933 or 1934. A finding aid is available.

BROOKHAVEN POLICE DEPARTMENT RECORDS (1937-1959)

Records of the The Town of Brookhaven, Long Island, New York Police Department, from its inception until it was merged into the Suffolk County Police Department. These are also the professional papers of Chief Edward E. Bridge, who oversaw the agency during this entire time. A Finding Aid is Available.

EUGENE CANEVARI PAPERS

These papers document 25 years (1927-1952) of investigative work by Canevari who was an NYPD detective in the Manhattan Homicide Squad, Waterfront Squad, Bomb Squad and Radical Squad. A finding aid is available

LEONHARD FELIX FULD COLLECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS OF INTERNATIONAL POLICE UNIFORMS

These photos of international police uniforms likely date to the 1920s-1930s. Middle Eastern, Caribbean, South American Asian and European police uniforms are represented. A finding aid is available. 

JAMES FYFE PAPERS

These papers document the professional work of James Fyfe, who was an expert on police training and excessive force. Fyfe worked for the NYPD, Temple University and was a professor at John Jay College and was an expert witness in many excessive force legal cases. A finding aid  is available. 

GARY, INDIANA POLICE RECORDS (1931-1951)

One box of documents created by the Gary, Indiana Police Department. Included are memoranda, reports, correspondence, investigative notes. Also in this collection are mug shots, arrest records, crime scene photos. One folder contains records of the Fraternal Order of Police, Gary Lodge no. 61. A finding aid is available. 

INSPECTOR ALLYN GRAY DIARIES (1942-59, 1970)

These volumes document the daily work of Allyn B.Gray, who was an inspector and later an area supervisor for the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms in the New York City area in the 1940s and 1950s.  A finding aid available. 

RECORDS OF THE INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF WOMEN POLICE (IAWP)

These papers document the activities of IAWP and include minutes of annual meetings, correspondence, newsletters and publications. A finding aid is available

SUPPLEMENTARY COLLECTION OF THE INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF WOMEN POLICE (IAWP)

This collection contains the professional papers of two past IAWP Presidents.

  1. The Professional Papers of Lois Higgins, (IAWP President from 1956 to 1964), mainly related to her career with the Chicago Police Department.
  2. The Professional Papers of Felicia Shpritzer (IAWP President, 1972-76) related to her career in the NYPD.  

A finding aid is available.

KANSAS CITY METROPOLITAN POLICE OFFICE OF THE MATRON BLOTTER (1904-1909)

Manuscript log book recording crimes, arrests, investigations by the Women's division during the early years of the Kansas City, MO Police Department.

KNAPP COMMISSION RECORDS

The records of the Knapp Commission document the work of the Commission to Investigate Alleged Police Corruption (in the NYPD). These records were collected by Michael Armstrong, Chief Counsel for the Commission.  The report from this investigation was released in 1973.  An inventory is available

WHITMAN KNAPP PAPERS

Papers collected by Whitman Knapp, mainly regarding the Commission to Investigate Alleged Police Corruption, popularly known as the Knapp Commission.  Other materials are present in the papers. A Finding Aid is Available.

SERGEANT HENRY V. MCCAFFERTY PAPERS (1950-1972)

Henry V. McCafferty was a NYPD patrolman and a member of mounted unit and a Sergeant in Manhattan and the Bronx. This collection consists mainly of the small 'memo books' recording his daily duties, and occurrences while on his post. Photographs and other objects are also part of this collection.  A finding aid is available.

PHILIP MCGUIRE PAPERS

These are the professional papers of Philip McGuire, documenting his twenty-seven year career with the NYPD. He was   appointed Assistant Commissioner of Programs and Policies in 1995 and specialized in crime analysis. An inventory is available.

MOLLEN COMMISSION TRANSCRIPTS AND VIDEOTAPES

These VHS videotapes and typewritten transcripts document the hearings (September-October 1993) of the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Police Corruption and the Anti-Corruption Procedures of the Police Department. A finding aid is available

COMMISSIONER PATRICK V. MURPHY PAPERS

Personal papers of former NYPD Commissioner, and a John Jay College Professor. A finding Aid is available

NYPD POLICE BLOTTERS (1916-1930s)

These daybooks of personnel kept by various Manhattan precincts are useful as examples of early NYPD recordkeeping. Blotters are available for study in the lower level stacks arranged by precinct and date.

JOSEPH P. RICCIO JR. COLLECTION OF HISTORICAL POLICE IMAGES

This collection features 19th and 20th century imagery of police from various sources. Most of the images are dated circa 1860-1950 and mainly depict NYPD officers, cartoons and caricatures.  A finding aid is available

LLOYD GEORGE SEALY PAPERS

These papers document the professional life of Lloyd Sealy who was the first black precinct sergeant in the NYPD, and later became a professor at John Jay College. A finding aid is available.

SHIBELS FAMILY PAPERS

These papers, dating to 1892-1911, mainly document the work of Fred and Edward Shibels, NYPD police detectives. Some papers pertain to other family members. A finding aid is available

COMMISSIONER BENJAMIN WARD PAPERS

The personal papers of Benjamin Ward, former NYPD Commissioner. A finding aid is available