Selected books on the history of the police of New York City at the Lloyd Sealy Library
NOTE: This list is not comprehensive, readers are strongly encouraged to search for themselves in the library catalog.
Abel, Roger L. The Black shields. Bloomington, Ind. : Author House, 2006.
Stacks HV8148 .N5 A314 2006
Aldrich-Moodie, Mary Jane. Staking out their domain : women in the New York City Police Department, 1890-1935.
Stacks HV8148 .N52 A628 2002a
Alexander, James I. Blue coats : black skin : the Black experience in the New York City Police Department since 1891. 1st ed. Hicksville, N.Y. : Exposition Press, c1978.
Special Collections HV8148 .N52 A64
Berman, Jay Stuart. Police administration and progressive reform: Theodore Roosevelt as police commissioner of New York. New York : Greenwood Press, 1987.
Stacks - HV8148 .N5 B47 1987
Cordella, Robert Henry. The Detective Division, New York City Police Department. [1960?]
Special Collections - LD 2602 .J3i no.34
Darien, Andrew T.: Patrolling the borders : integration and identity in the New York City Police Department, 1941-1975.
Stacks - HV 8148 .N52 D3 2000a
Darien, Andrew T (2013) Becoming New York's finest; Race, gender, and the integration of the NYPD, 1935-1980. Basingstoke, Palgrave Macmillan
Fyfe, J. J., & Kane, R. (2005). Bad cops: A study of career-ending misconduct among New York City police officers.
Green, James J.: A history of the 28th Precinct./ [New York, N.Y.] : Police Dept., city of New York, [between 1976 and 1977?]. Special Collections Room - HV8148 .N52 G732 1976z
Hickey, John J. Our police guardians; history of the Police Department of the city of New York, and the policing of same for the past one hundred years, also an account of my travels through Europe and America,…
Special Collections - HV 8148 .N5 H5
Stacks HV8079 .H6 H66 2005
Horn, Stacy. The restless sleep: inside New York City's Cold Case Squad. New York : Viking, 2005.
Jeffers, H. Paul. Commissioner Roosevelt : the story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City police, 1895-1897. New York : J. Wiley & Sons, c1994.
Stacks HV 7911 .R65 J45 1994
Johnson, Marilynn S. Street justice : a history of police violence in New York City. Boston, Mass. : Beacon Press, 2003
Stacks and Reserve - HV8148 .N52 J63 2003
Karmen, Andrew Crime and justice in New York City / 1998-1999 ed. (has chapters on NYPD, also subway police).
Stacks HV6795 .N5 C84 1998
Lardner, James. NYPD : a city and its police. New York : Henry Holt and Co., c2000.
Reserve Room - 1 week loan HV8148 .N5 L26 2000
Melchionne, Theresa M.: Policewomen : their introduction into the Police Department of the city of New York / 1962.
Stacks LD 2602 .J3i no.49
Miller, Wilbur R. (1999) Cops and bobbies : police authority in New York and London, 1830-1870. Columbus: Ohio State University Press.
NYPD. Civilianization in the New York City Police Department : a history / New York : New York City Police Department, 1981. Special Collections - HV 8148 .N52 C58 1981
NYPD: An outline of its organization, history and functions. [New York] : Police Dept., city of New York, [1945?]
Special Collections Room - HV 8148 .N52 N45 1945
A Pictorial revue of the 19th century N. Y. C. Police Department.
Special Collections - HV 8138 .P52
Richardson, James F (1970) The New York Police, colonial times to 1901. New York, Oxford Univ. Press. Stacks & Reserve - HV8148 .N5 R5
The history of police protection in New York City, 1800-1870 [microform] 1961. Microfilm Cabinets - HV 8148 .N5 R5 1961a
Sckolnik, Sam.: Consolidation of New York City Transit Police with the New York City Police Department : history, problems, and prospects. 1972.
Stacks - LD2602 .J3i no.303
Silverman, E. B. (1999). NYPD Battles Crime: Innovative Strategies In Policing,
Walling, George W. (1887) Recollections of a New York chief of police : an official record of thirty-eight years as patrolman, detective, captain, inspector and chief of the New York police. New York, N.Y.: Caxton Book Concern, Ltd. Special Collections Room
Whalen, B. A., & Whalen, J. (2014). The NYPD's first fifty years: politicians, police commissioners, and patrolmen. Potomac Books.
Willemse, Cornelius William. (1933) A cop remembers. New York, E. P. Dutton & co., inc. Stacks - HV7914 .W616 1933a
Zacks, Richard. Island of vice : Theodore Roosevelt's doomed quest to clean up sin-loving New York. 1st ed. New York : Doubleday, c2012.
Stacks - HV6795 .N5 Z33 2012