Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

NYPD - Historical and Current Research: Articles

This is a guide mainly focusing on the history of the NYPD, but modern sources are covered too. By Ellen Belcher

Keywords and subject headings

To find articles about the NYPD, try using this subject/descriptor term: New York (N.Y.). Police Dept.

...then narrow your search down by adding one or more other terms using AND between each term such as: "Police-Community Relations", "Crime Prevention", "Officials and Employment", "Policewomen", "Diversity", "Racial Profiling", "Stop and Frisk", "Counterterrorism", "Trials and Litigation" ... Many other terms find articles.

We have recently digitized all issues of Law Enforcement News (1975-2005), published by John Jay College, which regularly reported on the NYPD.

News Articles on the NYPD

From Google News, articles that mention the NYPD

Loading

Articles about the history of the NYPD

White, M. D. (2014). The New York City Police Department, its Crime Control Strategies and Organizational Changes, 1970-2009. JQ: Justice Quarterly, 31(1), 110-131. doi:10.1080/07418825.2012.723032

Thale, C. (2007). The Informal World of Police Patrol: New York City in the Early Twentieth Century. Journal Of Urban History, 33(2), 183-216. doi:10.1177/0096144206290384

Thale, C. (2004). ASSIGNED TO PATROL: NEIGHBORHOODS, POLICE, AND CHANGING DEPLOYMENT PRACTICES IN NEW YORK CITY BEFORE. Journal Of Social History, 37(4), 1037-1064.

Kane, R. J., & White, M. D. (2009). Bad cops. Criminology & Public Policy, 8(4), 737-769. doi:10.1111/j.1745-9133.2009.00591.x

Databases

Try searching these databases for scholarly and popular articles on the NYPD:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) (CUNY USE ONLY)

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext (JOHN JAY USE ONLY)

Criminal Justice Periodical Index (JOHN JAY USE ONLY)

 Sociological Abstracts (JOHN JAY USE ONLY)
* Search multiple criminal justice databases (JOHN JAY USE ONLY)
Search several databases at the same time; includes: Criminal Justice Abstracts, SocINDEX, HeinOnline, and more.

Encyclopedias

Try looking in these encyclopedias for articles on the NYPD

Sage e-Reference Collection (JOHN JAY USE ONLY)