Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

NYPD - Historical and Current Research: Policy and Procedure Manuals

This is a guide mainly focusing on the history of the NYPD, but modern sources are covered too. By Ellen Belcher

Historical Manuals

A  list of NYPD Manuals, Rules and Regulations - dates in bold indicate that this manual is owned by John Jay College:

1812 Rules & regulations, adopted by the Hon'ble. De Witt Clinton, Esq. mayor of the city of New-York, to be observed by the constables and marshals of the said city.--July, 1812 [Not owned by John Jay, copy at the New-York Historical Society]

1846 Police Department. Rules and regulations for day and night police of the city of New-York; with instructions as to the legal powers and duties of policemen. New- York : Printed by Caspar C. Childs. Special Collections Room - James Fyfe Papers

1848 Rules and regulations for the government of the Police Department of the City of New-York :with instructions as to the legal powers and duties of policemen. New York (N.Y.). Police Dept.1848 - 90 p. ; 16 cm. New-York : Bowne & Co. ...,[Not owned by John Jay] copy at the New-York Historical Society,  NYPL - digital copy of the title page here

1851. New York City.—Police Department. Rules and regulations for the government of the Police Department . . . With instructions as to the legal powers and duties of policemen. New York : Bowne &  Co., 159 pp. 16°. [not owned by John Jay]

1873 New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Manual containing the rules and regulations of the Department of Police of the City of New York. (New York : J.L. Hastie, stationer and printer, 1235 Broadway) [Not owned by John Jay, copy at the New-York Historical Society]

1876 Manual of the Brooklyn Police Department, together with rules and regulations governing the force. Brooklyn, N.Y. : Eagle Print, [Not owned by John Jay, copy at  Brooklyn Public Library]

1877 New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Manual containing the rules and regulations of the Police Department of the City of New York. (New York, M.B. Brown) [Not owned by John Jay, copy at the New-York Historical Society]

1893. Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.).Dept. of Police and Excise. Rules and regulations for the government of the police force of the city of Brooklyn as determined by the commissioner of police and excise, Oct., 1893. Brooklyn,  Special Collections Room - HV7580 .K 1893

1896   New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Manual containing the rules and regulations of the Police Department of the city of New York. [1 copy at Yale University]

1901 New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Manual containing the rules and regulations of the police department ... (New York, J.W. Pratt Co., Printers) [Not owned by John Jay, copy at the New-York Historical Society]

1905 New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Manual containing the rules and regulations of the Police Department of the City of New York. [Not owned by John Jay, copy at the Univ. of Chicago]

1914 Cornelius F Cahalane. Police practice and procedure.  (New York, Bureau of printing, Police Dept.) Special Collections Room -  HV7597 .Q 1914 available in digital copy from The Internet Archive.

 1919 James Joseph Skehan and James P Conway Practical police work what to do and how to do it (New York, N.Y. : James P. Conway) Special Collections Room - KFN 6100 .Z9 S53 1919 available in digital copy from The Internet Archive

1929 New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Manual of procedure. (New York : Police Dept.) Special Collections Room - HV7597 .Q 1929

 1934(?) New York (N.Y.) Police Dept. Rules and Regulations of the Police Department of the City of New York. (New York: DeVinne-Brown Corp.) Special Collections Room – HV7597 .Q 1934z

 1937-1940 New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Rules and regulations and Manual of procedure of Police Department of the City of New York. (New York, Civil Service Bulletin) (loose-leaf) Special Collections Room - HV 7597 .Q 1940

1949 New York (N.Y.). Police Dept.: Manual of procedure, 1949.  (New York, N.Y. : Police Dept.)  looseleaf Special Collections Room

c1956- New York (N.Y.). Police Dept.: Rules and procedures. (New York: Police Dept., city of New York)  1 v. (loose-leaf) Special Collections Room - HV 7597 .Q 1956

1972- New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Department manual. (New York : The Dept.) Special Collections & Special Collections Room HV7597 .Q 1972

Note: this is a loose-leaf intended for updating, and our copies have been partially updated by insertion of new orders and as such has grown far beyond the original 2 volumes—vol 1-Patrol; vol. 2-detectives and administration. Our copies have been updated to different dates so collectively cover NYPD procedure 1970s-1990s.

1993- 2006 -New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Patrol guide manual (Charlottesville, VA : LexisNexis Gould Publications) John Jay has 1999, 2004, 2005, 2006 Reference HV7597 .Q

2016-present  New York (N.Y.). Police Department.: NYPD patrol guide. Flushing, N.Y. : Looseleaf Law Publication Inc.,  Reference Desk - HV7597 .Q4

Subject Headings to Search

The following subject headings are useful for searching for Patrol Guides in CUNY+ and WorldCat.
Police -- New York (State) -- New York. 
New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. -- Rules and practice.
Police -- Supervision of -- New York (State) -- New York.

NYPD, Demonstrations and Protests Policy and Procedure

for further resources try using the following subject heading Demonstrations -- New York (State) -- New York.

Enterno, J. (ed,). 2014. The New York City Police Department : the impact of its policies and practices. Reserve Room - 3 day loan - HV8148 .N5 N497 2014 also available as an e-book.  [Includes discussion on policing Occupy Wall Street protests]

Police Executive Research Forum. 2013 Social media and tactical considerations for law enforcement. Reserve Room - 3 hour loan - HV8139 .S59 2013a also freely available on PERF website

NYPD (no date, under Raymond Kelly, Police Commissioner) Disorder Control Guidelines. Louis Anemone Papers, Special Collections Room A copy is freely available on the Internet Archive.

New York ACLU. 2005. Rights and wrongs at the RNC: a special report about police and protest at the Republican National Convention. Special Collections & Stacks - HV8148 .N52 R53 2005 also freely available on the NY-ACLU website

New York (N.Y.). Police Department. Training Bureau. 2004. Officers' guide to the Republican National Convention 2004, New York. Special Collections Room - HV7597 .Q 2004

New York ACLU. 2003. Arresting protest : a special report of the New York Civil Liberties Union of New York City's protest policies at the February 15, 2003 antiwar demonstration in New York City. Special Collections - HV8148 .N52 A77 2003a also freely available on NY-ACLU website.

New York (N.Y.). Police Department. 1988. Report on the Tompkins Square Park Incident. Law Enforcement News Archives (available by appointment) also freely available in the Lloyd Sealy Library Digital Collections

New York (N.Y.). Police Department. Legal Division. 1973. Instructions for members of the force at mass demonstrations. Special Collections & Stacks - HV 8055 .N483 1973

New York (N.Y.). Police Department. 1970. Guidelines for demonstrations. Special Collections & Stacks - HV8055 .N48 1970

 

The NYPD Patrol Guide in the News

Loading