Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Gender Studies: Find Reference Books

Electronic Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to the full text of electronic encyclopedia articles, dictionaries and more. This database will give you background information on your topic. Enter your search terms, such as “gender and sexuality” or “masculinity”, in the search box below. 

 

 

 

 

 

Sage e-Reference Collection A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.

e Encyclopedias & Dictionaries on Gender Topics

Adding "AND encyclopedia" to your keyword search in CUNY+ finds reference books available in both electronic and paper format. These are a great place to start your research or to define terms, concepts or facts.

American masculinities: a historical encyclopedia.

Completely queer: the Gay and Lesbian encyclopedia. Reference - HQ 75 .H63 1998

Encyclopedia of contemporary LGBTQ literature of the United States Reference - PS153 .S39 E53 2009

Encyclopedia of gay and lesbian popular culture

Encyclopedia of gender and society

Encyclopedia of gender and information technology

Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America. 

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender

Encyclopedia of sex and gender: men and women in the world's cultures Reference - HQ16 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of sexual behavior and the law also available at Reference Law - KF9325 .A68 M33 2006

International encyclopedia of men and masculinities

Lesbian histories and cultures: an encyclopedia also available at Reference - HQ 75.5 .L4395 2000

Men and masculinities: a social, cultural, and historical encyclopedia

Routledge international encyclopedia of queer culture. Reference - HQ76.96 .R68 2006

Routledge international encyclopedia of women: global women's issues and knowledge. Reference - HQ 1115 .R69 2000

Sexuality and the law: an encyclopedia of major legal cases Reference Law - KF9325 .A7 L46 1993