Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Anthropology: Find Books

A guide to Library resources in Anthropology

E-Books

Hound Hunt - Search Multiple Book databases. (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Search several databases at the same time; includes NetLibrary, Psychbooks, Worldcat and more

Bookshelf from NCBI

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Early English Books Online (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) EEBO contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.

Ebrary (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (CUNY USE ONLY) A digital archive of 150,000 books published in the eighteenth century, covering a broad spectrum of topics like law, history, science, and art.

FORENSICnetBASE (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) A searchable collection of over 300 reference books in forensic science and related fields.

Google Book Search Google is in the process of scanning complete books from some of the world's great libraries. Books in the public domain can be read in their entirety. Some books will display in part.

Internet Archive Texts Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.  Try the archive's site OpenLibrary for an interface to the published books on archive.org and links to other online book collections.

HathiTrust Digital Library HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. 

Making of the Modern World (CUNY USE ONLY)

Provides the full text of 61,000 works of literature in business, politics, and economics published from 1450 to 1850. Includes the full Goldsmiths’-Kress Library of Economic Literature.

NetLibrary electronic books (CUNY USE ONLY) Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice.

Online Books Page Provides author, title, and subject access to hundreds of thousands of non-copyrighted online books freely available. 



Books to take out from the Library

 

CUNY+ is the entry point to both the print (and other materials) in John Jay's Lloyd Sealy Library, as well as in the libraries of the other CUNY colleges.

Keyword(s):

 

Search CUNY+