Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Anthropology: Find Articles

A guide to Library resources in Anthropology

Article databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) (CUNY USE ONLY)  Provides full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and magazines, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports covering almost all academic areas of study.   Alternate access via library barcode

Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute Indexes anthropology and related journals back to the 1970's. Excellent source for cross-cultural studies of crime, drug use, and violence.  Very comprehensive, however, full text linking is not provided and we don't have access to all of the journals.

AnthroSource (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) From the American Anthropological Association, includes current issues of 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications through the end of 2006, plus an electronic archive of all AAA journals.  

Gale Academic OneFile (CUNY USE ONLY) Contains over 12,000 scholarly journals and reference sources; (half are full text) subjects cover physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. [based on Infotrac databases].   Alternate access via library barcode

JSTOR (CUNY USE ONLY) A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of over 300 of the most significant scholarly journals. Note: articles may take a long time to print.   Alternate access via library barcode

Social Sciences Full Text (CUNY USE ONLY) Indexes hundreds of periodicals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.   Alternate access via library barcode

SocINDEX with Full Text (CUNY USE ONLY) Contains full text for hundreds of "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895 as well as "priority" coverage journals; also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.   Alternate access via library barcode

Sociological Abstracts (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Abstracts for scholarly articles, books, and dissertations, 1952 - links to full text through FindIt!

Indexes in our Reference Area

C.R.I.S.  the combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology, 1895-1974 Reference Index Area AI1 .C17 Volume 1 covers Anthropology

Finding the source in sociology and anthropology a thesaurus-index to the reference collection Reference HM51 .B877 1987

Annual Review of Anthropology - Reference GN4 .A5 (also available on-line through JSTOR)

 Biannual Review of Anthropology Reference: GN4 .B4 (also available online through JSTOR)

Periodicals we Subscribe to

The Library subscribes to a few anthropological titles in paper form. We have access to an ever changing collection of electronic journals and magazines. This list is probably incomplete. To access articles by subject in these journals, please use the article databases.

Available in the library (some also available online)

Anthropological Quarterly

Applied Anthropology Periodicals GN1 .H83

American Anthropologist Periodicals GN1 .A5

Current Anthropology GN1 .C8

Human Organization Periodicals and Microfiche Cabinets: GN1 .H83

Journal of Anthropological Research

Man Periodicals: GN1 .M25

Southwestern Journal of Anthropology: Periodicals and Microfilm Cabinets GN1 .J6

 

Available online:

Not all issues are available on-line, so please check our List of Full Text Electronic Journals for the dates and issues that are available.  Note that access to journals changes and expands frequently, so check often

Anthropology & Archeology of Eurasia 

American Anthropologist

American Journal of Archaeology

American journal of physical anthropology 

American Antiquity

American Ethnologist

American Journal of Archaeology

American Journal of Archaeology and of the History of the Fine Arts

Annual review of anthropology 

Annual review of anthropology 

Anthropology & education quarterly 

Anthropology & medicine 

Anthropology of Food 

Anthropology Southern Africa 

Anthropology today 

Archaeological Reports

Arctic anthropology 

Australian journal of anthropology 

Australian journal of anthropology

Biennial review of anthropology 

Canadian review of sociology and anthropology

Chinese sociology and anthropology 

Cultural anthropology 

Current anthropology 

Dialectical anthropology 

Ethnohistory

Ethnomusicology

Ethos

Evolutionary anthropology 

Folklore

Folk-Lore Journal 1883-1889

Folk-Lore Record 1878-1882

History and anthropology 

Human Biology

Jahrbuch für Volksliedforschung 1928-1999

Journal of American Folklore 1888-1998

Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland 1872-1906

Journal of Field Archaeology

Journal of physiological anthropology and applied human science

Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute

Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland 1907-1965

Kacike: Journal of Caribbean Amerindian History and Anthropology 

Man 1901-1994

Medical anthropology Medical anthropology newsletter 

Medical anthropology quarterly 

Proceedings of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland 1965-1973

Music & anthropology

Papers on anthropology

RAIN (Royal Anthropological Institute Newsletter)1974-1984

Reviews in Anthropology 

Reviews in Anthropology 

Transactions of the Anthropological Society of Washington 1879-1885

Yearbook of Anthropology

Urban anthropology and studies of cultural systems and world economic development 

Visual anthropology

World Archaeology