Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Anthropology: Find Videos & Images

A guide to Library resources in Anthropology

How to find videos

Lloyd Sealy Library Video Collection. The library has a large collection of videos (on DVD and VHS) intended primarily for classroom use. While only faculty can borrow videos from the library, all library patrons can view videos in our video viewing rooms or on any library computer. More information on our videos and video policies »

Our video collection is cataloged on CUNY+ we suggest you search for by keyword using the following terms:  video# and [subject search term]

Ethnographic Films

Ethnographic Video Online (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) 750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides  

University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology Films In its 120-year history, the University of Pennsylvania Museum has collected nearly one million objects, many obtained directly through its own field excavations or anthropological research. Three gallery floors feature materials from ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, the Bible Lands, Mesoamerica, Asia and the ancient Mediterranean World, as well as artifacts from native peoples of the Americas, Africa and Polynesia. This collection on the Internet Archive represents a portion of the motion picture film collection housed at the Museum.

National Anthropological Archives at the Smithsonian Institution The Human Studies Film Archives has a uTube channel of clips from their collections. There is also a guide to the HSFA collections, many of which are not digitally available. There's also an online exhibit page of images and documents from the collections as well as a blog on what's new.