Once you have an idea of the topic you'd like to explore, gather some background
information. Getting a better understanding of the topic and its
complexity
will make it easier for you to pick the particular aspect that you want to look closely at.
As you are gathering information on your topic, you might also consider the following sites:
ProCon.org presents contrasting views on controversial issues. Discussion of each topic is divided into two columns: pro and con. Evidence (data, reports, studies) is provided for each argument. Each section features a list of additional sources.
Public Agenda is another site where you will find overviews of current issues. Each Issue Guide highlights the key aspects of a topic, and Research Studies explore specific aspects of an issue in detail.
FactCheck.org reports whether or not the information conveyed by politicans, TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news
releases is factually accurate. Although FactCheck.org focuses on issues currently in the news, you can browse its archives back to 2003.
Times Topics is a section of The New York Times web site. It is a selection of pages that bring together all the news, reference and archival
information, photos, graphics, audio and video files that have been published on a given topic. To find information on an issue that interests you, browse the alphabetical list of topics.
Search for
your topic
in these online library databases:
Gale
Virtual
Reference Library is a great alternative to
Wikipedia. This online collection of more than 250 specialized
encyclopedias,
dictionaries, biographical directories, and other reference books in all
disciplines will provide you with credible background information on
your
topic.
CQ
Researcher
Plus Archive is a collection of
in-depth reports on news topics and social issues. Each report includes
an
overview, a historical timeline, a section on current situation, and a
list of
references. Recently covered topics include Prisoner Reentry, Animal
Rights,
and Truth Commissions.
Opposing
Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on
current social issues. It offers access to
pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary
documents,
links to websites, full-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly
articles.