Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Forensic psychology

A guide to finding forensic psychology information, by Ellen Sexton.

What is forensic psychology?

Forensic psychology is concerned with the areas where psychology and the law meet, specifically the application of psychology to law. For a longer (and much better) explanation, John Jay students can read the article below:

Forensic psychology.  Roesch, R. (2000).  Forensic psychology. In: Kazdin, Alan E. (Ed.). Encyclopedia of Psychology, Vol. 3.   Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.  pp. 383-386.   

Notable forensic psychology reference books

General psychology encyclopedias

Electronic encyclopedia collections include:

Gale Virtual Reference Library.    Full text of more than 250 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, etc.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Oxford Reference [Online Premium].   Access to over 175 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Sage Knowledge Collection.  A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. It includes over 40 psychology encylopedias. 

Some excellent encyclopedias are available in print fromat, in the reference area on the upper floor of the library:

Psychology & law dictionaries

Glossary of psychological terms.  From Gerrig, Richard J. & Philip G. Zimbardo. Psychology And Life, 16/e.  Published by Allyn and Bacon, Boston, MA. Copyright (c) 2002 by Pearson Education. Reprinted by permission of the publisher on the American Psychological Association website.

Mason, J. (1987). Butterworths medico-legal encyclopedia. Butterworths, London.  Most entries in this small one volume encyclopedia are about a half page long, with good short bibliographies. Most of the legal references are to English law, but mention is made of significant U.S. situations.  Reference law KD3395.A68M37 1987  Electronic version available in Lexis-Nexis Academic database.