COR 320 – LIBRARY TIPS AND SUGGESTED RESOURCES
this guide is on the web at http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/COR320
LIBRARY SUBJECT GUIDES – FIRST PLACE TO GO
The following library research guides link to and explain most of the information presented in this handout. You can find all of our Subject Guides from our homepage www.lib.jjay.cuny.edu
Citing Sources: APA, MLA & Chicago Styles http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/citing_sources : In order to distinguish your ideas from others you MUST cite your sources properly in your paper, within the text and in the bibliography at the end. This guide will help you.
Prisoner Reentry, Probation and Parole Subject Guide http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/reentry
New York Prisons and Jails Subject Guide http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/NYPrisons
Criminal Justice Subject Guide http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/criminaljustice
Statistics Subject Guide http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/statistics
Domestic Violence subject guide http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/domesticviolence
Part 1: GETTING STARTED & CHOOSING TOPICS – BACKGROUND AND OVERVIEWS
Specialized Encyclopedias and Reports are a great way to get some background on your topic and narrow down what you are going to write about here are some suggestions.
Try searching your topic in: CQ Researcher which offers these recent reports of interest:
Glazer. S. (2017, March 3). Women in prison. CQ Researcher, 27, 193-216.
Glazer, S. (2014, January 10). Sentencing reform. CQ Researcher, 24, 25-48.
Lyons, C. L. (2016, February 5). Restorative justice. CQ Researcher, 26, 121-144
Lyons, C. L. (2015, September 11). Reforming juvenile justice. CQ Researcher, 25, 745-768.
Karaim, R. (2015, October 23). Immigrant detention. CQ Researcher, 25, 889-912.
Katel, P. (2016, January 8). Racial conflict. CQ Researcher, 26, 25-48
Katel, P. (2012, September 14). Solitary confinement. CQ Researcher, 22, 765-788.
Katel, P. (2011, March 11). Downsizing prisons. CQ Researcher, 21, 217-240.
Katel, P. (2009, December 4). Prisoner reentry. CQ Researcher, 19, 1005-1028.
or go to the shelves in the Reference Area, upper floor for print format encyclopedias.
Part 2: Search for books using OneSearch discovery tool:
From the library home page: www.lib.jjay.cuny.edu
You can borrow “stacks” printed books from any CUNY library, or request that they be sent here (use the request button). Don’t request JJ books – go to the shelf and pick them up yourself. Do get a barcode for your JJ id card - at the library desk on the lower floor.
Our books are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification system, an alphanumeric system which groups books by subject categories, or classes.
H Social sciences
HV Criminology, social pathology, social welfare.
HV 6431 Terrorism
HV 7431 Crime prevention
HV 7551-8080 Policing
HV 8035-8069 Special crimes, offenses and criminals
HV 8073-8079.35 Criminal investigation
HV 8301-9920.7 Prisons. Corrections
HV 9051-9230.7 Juvenile offenders. Juvenile delinquency
HV 9261-9430.7 Reformation of adult prisoners including probation,
OneSearch will also discover articles, videos, etc.
But it does not cover EVERYTHING. Use Criminal Justice Abstracts or SocINDEX to efficiently find peer reviewed articles published in criminal justice and sociology journals.
Part 3: Scholarly communication & peer review
Scholars formally communicate the results of their research, and establish precedence, by writing and publishing articles in academic journals. Usually these articles go through peer review before they are accepted for publication. The researchers’ peers, all experts in the topic being studied, anonymously judge the quality and uniqueness of the work reported in the paper, and recommend, or not, that the manuscript be published.
Peer review is:
“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by
others working in the same field.”
“The process used by publishers and editors of academic journals to provide a chance for scholars to examine and critique a paper or monograph before it is published to help ensure its integrity and veracity.” [from Oxford Reference Online http://ez.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com ]
To efficiently discover peer-reviewed academic articles on a topic, search a library database such as Criminal Justice Abstracts
Browse the entire list under “subject = criminal justice”: www.lib.jjay.cuny.edu
Criminal Justice Abstracts Searches articles published in (mostly) academic criminal justice journals. (can add other EBSCO platform databases to the search, e..g Academic Search Complete)
Criminal Justice Periodical Index: Searches practitioner periodicals, e.g. The Police Chief.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO platform) Searches a broad range of magazine and journal articles.
Google Scholar A tool that searches the web for journal articles. I don’t recommend this as your search tool, BUT if you do use it, use the link on the library select from popular databases menu – then you will avoid paywalls and get easy & free access to many more PDFs.
How to search any database
KEYWORDS - Use AND to narrow your search. Use OR to broaden your search. This is called Boolean searching. You may find it easier to construct these searches using the search boxes providing the Boolean terms AND, OR, NOT in dropdown menus in many databases’ advanced search. Some examples of constructed Boolean search strings are:
Female Offenders AND Parole AND New York
Women AND (Probation OR Parole)
(Juveniles OR Youth) AND Sentencing
Teenagers AND Murder AND (Sentencing OR Sentences)
Hispanics AND New York AND Parole
(Prison and Visitation) OR “prison visits”
Reentry AND Employment
Recidivism AND Drugs AND Offenders
Reentry OR Re-Entry
Health Care and Prisoners
Asterisk * truncates:
prison* gets prison, prisons, prisoner, prisoners.
“Quotation marks” keeps words together: “new york city”.
Other Keywords to consider:
Part 4: Gray literature: Reports from government agencies,
think tanks, & non-profit organizations.
Many useful criminal justice reports may be found with the OneSearch discovery tool, Criminal Justice Abstracts, and Criminal Justice Periodical Index. You will also find reports on the web using Google.
Ask yourself: who wrote the report? When? And why? Can you identify bias?
The CRAAP Test suggests evaluating information by Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy & Purpose, before deciding whether or not to use it for your assignment.
USEFUL GOVERNMENT AND NON-GOVERNMENT AGENCY WEBSITES
Prisoner Reentry Institute, John Jay College of Criminal Justice http://www.jjay.cuny.edu/centersinstitutes/pri.asp
AGENCY WEBSITES -FEDERAL
NCJRS Justice Information Center A well-organized site of the U.S. Department of Justice with direct access to full-text government documents as well as links to other sites. Provides the full text of NIJ and other OJP and Office of National Drug Control Policy publications.
United States Department of Justice Information about the DOJ, including press releases from the Attorney General. This department is home to most federal criminal justice agencies. Office of Justice Programs Funding and research arm of the DOJ. Includes the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the National Institute of Justice - the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice.
Federal Bureau of Prisons Official website of the agency that oversees Federal corrections institutions. It is part of the U.S. Department of Justice.
Corrections: Reentry/Release, National Criminal Justice Reference Service http://www.ncjrs.gov/App/Topics/Topic.aspx?topicid=21
Part 5. Statistics
Googling “Prison Inmates and Statistics and [state]” as well as searching the agencies’ names will usually find statistics reports.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (a Federal government agency site) http://bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov Many statistical reports are available from this website on all aspects of parole, probation and prisoner reentry. Especially recommended, the yearly reports Probation and Parole in the United States.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics – http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/
New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services publications – http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/crimnet/pubs.htm See also the statistics header.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data – NACJD http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/NACJD/
Search ‘parole’ for statistical tables and reports. Including their Survey of Inmates in State and Federal Correctional Facilities and their Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) data.
[This guide by E. Belcher 2016; edited by E. Sexton 2017,18]