Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Art and Artists: Art Books

Resources on Art History and Art Museums in NYC, based on the course offerings in the Art and Music Department at John Jay College, by Ellen Belcher

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias On Art

Oxford Art Online includes the following individual titles:

Chilvers (ed) Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists

Chilvers (ed) The dictionary of modern and contemporary art

Clarke, Michael (2003) The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms.

Darvill, Timothy (2008) The concise Oxford dictionary of archaeology

Morgan, Ann Lee. (2007) The Oxford dictionary of American art and artists

Hall, James Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art. Reference - N7560 .H34 2008

Turner (ed) Dictionary of Art - Reference - N 31 .D5 1996

Oxford Companion to Western Art

Thames and Hudson dictionary of art and artists  - Reference - N33 .T43 1985

 

Books to take out from the Library

 

CUNY+ is the entry point to both the print (and other materials) in John Jay's Lloyd Sealy Library, as well as in the libraries of the other CUNY colleges.

Keyword(s):

 

Search CUNY+

 

Ebook Search

Search the John Jay Library e-book collections:

Art Books in the Stacks - selections

Denega, Danielle (2007) Have you seen this face?: the work of forensic artists. Stacks - HV8073.4 .D46 2007

Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections

The MMA has made the records and images of almost 500,000 items in their collections freely available with open access rights.

"...all images of public-domain works in The Met collection are available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). So whether you're an artist or a designer, an educator or a student, a professional or a hobbyist, you now have more than 375,000 images of artworks from our collection to use, share, and remix—without restriction."

Read more on Open Access at the Met.

Collections of Art Books, Digitally available for Free

MetPublications From the website: MetPublications is a portal to the Met's comprehensive book and online publishing program with close to 700 titles published from 1964 to the present. MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for most titles, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met titles by author and by theme. Current titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book.  Collections.

Guggenheim Museum Publications - Over a thousand publications by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum are now freely available on the Internet Archive.

Getty Institute Publications Virtual Library Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives.

Brooklyn Museum publications on HathiTrust Library - read more about the project on the Brooklyn Museum BlogL

Los Angeles County Museum of Art Reading Room  from the website:The Reading Room is a special corner of lacma.org dedicated to catalogues and brochures of exhibitions past. These are out-of-print, hard-to-find publications available here in full for free. From a unique set of publications focused on the Southern California art scene to rare books about German Expressionism, modern art, Southeast Asian art, and more, the catalogues and brochures here reflect the depth and breadth of LACMA’s collection and exhibition history.

Subject Guide

Ellen Belcher's picture
Ellen Belcher
Contact:
Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

899 Tenth Ave

New York City 10019

(212)237-8238